messyplayforeveryday

A collection of fun activities for little hands!

Leaf Creatures

on October 27, 2012

Fall is my favorite time of year.  I love watching the leaves change color and my kids love to collect them once they fall.  I found myself asking, “What do we do with all of these leaves they’ve collected?”  So we made leaf creatures!  All you need is

Leaves of different colors, sizes and shapes

Glue

Construction paper

Googly Eyes

Markers

Give each child a piece of construction paper, glue and a pile of leaves and give them instructions, “Take your leaves and create an animal or make-believe creature.”  My daughter loved this and made several pictures of dinosaurs, dogs, crabs etc.  For my two-year old while the picture looked more like a collage of leaves, it was fun to hear him tell me what he thought he’d made.  When they’re done creating they can put on the eyes and use the markers to create whatever parts of their picture they couldn’t make with leaves.  Such a fun, creative project!  Have fun with it!

Leave a Reply

