messyplayforeveryday

A collection of fun activities for little hands!

Gone Fishin”

on August 10, 2012


My son loves this activity and will play for an hour or more! My daughter and I whipped it together while he was napping one day since it was raining and we knew we’d be stuck inside the rest of the afternoon. Here’s what you need

construction paper

scissors

paper clips

string

ruler

magnet

Draw fish shapes onto the construction paper and cut them out ( I had my 5-year-old do the cutting). Place a paper clip where the mouth should be and the fish are done. For the pole take the ruler and tie the string on one end. At the opposite end of the string tie the magnet and you’re good to go! We adapted this activity for each of my little ones. For my son as he caught a fish he would tell us the color (he’s 2) and for my 5-year-old daughter I wrote some simple words she’s working on reading and she would read them as she caught them. You could do this math problems, the alphabet, numbers etc depending on the skill your child is working on. As we caught them we even dropped them into a bucket just like we do when we actually fish. So fun!

2 responses to “Gone Fishin”

  1. Meg Hobbeheydar says:

    I love this idea! Totally doing it for the next rainy day!!

Leave a Reply

